Caramelized Onion Chicken

I often get into a rut with the same old recipes.  I (like many others) have my staple, go-to recipes and I get tired of them!  This year, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to try at least one new recipe a week (in addition to eating one completely vegetarian meal, and one with seafood as the protein-for both health and bugdet reasons!).  This week I tried Caramelized Onion Chicken from Cooking Light.  It had a great rating and pretty strong reviews, not to mention the picture looked delicious!  I made several changes to the original recipe, but pretty much followed the basic principle.  My adjustments will be [in these things.]

Caramelized Onion Chicken

Serves 4

  • 1 lb chicken breast tenders [i used thinly sliced breasts]
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper [I have no idea how much I used, to taste]
  • 1 tsp olive oil [I used tbsp, maybe a little more]
  • 1/2 cup sliced onion [I used 2 medium onions.  Way more that 1/2 cup, I like onions!]
  • 1/2 cup seedless raspberry jam [I used sugar-free raspberry preserves…and it had seeds]
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar [I used 1/4 cup-this recipe def needed more acidity]
  • 1 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tsp bottled minced ginger [I used just a sprinkle of ground ginger powder-this ingredient seemed weird to me?]
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • [splash-maybe 1/4 cup-vegetable stock]
  1. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, and sauté 2 minutes.
  3. Add chicken to pan; sauté 8 minutes or until chicken is done.
  4. Remove onion and chicken from pan. [Now, what I really did was season the chicken with salt and pepper and cook in in the oil first for about 3-4 minutes per side.  Then I added the onion to the same pan and cooked it for about 15 minute…And it wasn’t caramelized.  I think you would need to cook it for maybe 20-25 minutes to get any real color/flavor.  The reason I didn’t is because my husband was complaining how hungry he was]
  5. Add jam and remaining ingredients to pan.; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly with a whisk. [I added a splash of vegetable stock to thin out the preserves a little more.  You could just use water for this.]
  6. Return chicken mixture to pan; cook 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.

This recipe was pretty tasty!  If I made it again, I would definitely let the onion cooks much longer to develop a much deeper flavor.  I probably would use a regular, seedless raspberry jam (or, really any flavor would probably be good!) instead of the sugar-free.  The sauce was the best part, and this would be great served with rice or egg noodles to soak up all the extra deliciousness!

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Dishes

Leave a Reply

