Philly Cheese Steak Cheeseburgers

 DSC_0182 (1024x681)

Have you ever been to Philadelphia and had a real cheese steak sandwich? 

I was visiting a friend in Philly when I was in college and he took me to Pat’s. 

image

{Source}

Apparently, everyone is either a Pat’s or a Geno’s person.  He was a Pat’s person, so that is where we went. 

Now, if you have never been to this place, there is a very specific way you are supposed to order your sandwich, or else they send you to the back of the line.  I’m not sure if that is true or not, but the line was enormous and I was not trying to go to the back. 

image

{Source}

I wanted a cheese steak with provolone cheese and onions.  When I finally made it to the front of the line and it was my turn to order, I said “I want a cheese steak with provolone with” because to order onions you say ‘”with” and to order with out onions you say “without.”  Seems simple right? 

So, I’m not a loud person, and I’m actually pretty shy in uncomfortable situations.  And, well, I don’t know if I was just too quiet when I ordered or what, but the person thought I said “Whiz” which is what you say when you want Cheez Whiz and I was too afraid they would send me to the back of the line so I didn’t correct them and tell them that I said “with” for onions and I ended up with a cheese steak with Cheez Whiz.  

And it was awesome.  Best ordering mistake of my life.

I went with the classic provolone for these burgers, but you could easily switch it out for Cheez Whiz, if you are so inclined.

DSC_0153 (1024x681)

Start off with some bell peppers and onions.

DSC_0157 (1024x681)

Get those caramelizing in a little olive oil.  Grilled peppers and onions make everything better. 

DSC_0171 (1024x681)

DSC_0162 (1024x681)

Divide a pound of lean ground beef into 4 patties.

 DSC_0169 (1024x681)

Season those with seasoning salt.  This is the best all purpose seasoning I know of. 

  DSC_0179 (1024x681)

Grill up your burgers, and top them with provolone.

 DSC_0180 (1024x681)

I always pour a little water into the pan.  The steam really helps with getting the cheese melted. 

 DSC_0182 (1024x681)

Top your burgers with the grilled peppers and onions.  Simple and delicious, and reminiscent of a scary trip to your favorite Philly Cheese Steak establishment.

    DSC_0186 (1024x681)

Philly Cheese Steak Cheeseburgers

makes 4 burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1-2 tsp seasoning salt
  • 4 slices of provolone cheese
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 4 hamburger buns

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet.  Sauté onions and peppers until they are caramelized and tender.
  2. Meanwhile, divide ground beef into 4 equal patties.  Season both sides of the patties with seasoning salt.
  3. Grill patties until they are cooked through, about 4 minutes on each side.
  4. Once burgers are almost cooked, top each with a slice of provolone cheese. 
  5. Drizzle 3 tbsp of water into the pan with the burgers.  The steam will help to melt the cheese.
  6. Transfer the burgers to the buns and top each with 1/4 of the onions and peppers.
  7. Top burgers with your favorite Philly Cheese Steak toppings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Dishes, Sandwiches

Leave a comment